The element, Fire is associated with the Summer season and with heat.

In the Chinese Medicine paradigm, the element is associated with the heart, pericardium, small intestines and related to the tongue.

Fire represents physical strength, force, courage, desire, initiative, fertility, passion, purification and rejuvenation. It represents both light and heat. A positive fire person is strong, courageous and bold, dramatic and passionate in all areas within himself.

Emotionally, this element is associated with the mind and it’s stability. The heart is the “seat” of the mind and therefore, its highest expression is love. Enthusiasm, warmth in human relationships and conscious awareness. Emotionally, when the fire element is balanced, sensitivity and expression, true fulfillment and the equilibrium between heart and mind are our greatest rewards.

The Solar Plexus Chakra represents the fire element, our ego identity, oriented to self-definition. This chakra is known as the power chakra, located in the solar plexus. It rules our personal power, will, and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power. The color for this chakra is yellow. Yellow is very good for getting in touch with your power and to build confidence. It is your center of will.

When imbalanced, we may either lack joy (depression) or have an excess of joy (maniac condition). Fire is symbolic of maximum activity or greatest Yang; nature at its peak of growth, and the motion is upward. Agitation, nervous exhaustion, heartburn and insomnia are other indicators of imbalance in this area.

The Fire Signs of the zodiac are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Physically, when the fire element is balanced, the heart properly governs and circulates the blood and insures proper assimilation of the beginning breakdown of food in the small intestines.

In Dream Therapy, fire can be a common theme. How much control you have over the fire in your dreams can indicate how much control we have in life. What is burning in your dream? This can show you what your fears are in waking life. Fire can be warm and comforting or dangerous and unpredictable. Fire that is under your control in a dream can show you how empowered you are. You can find out more about fire in Andrew’s Dream Dictionary.

In Vedic Astrology, each element is related to one of the 12 Houses. Fire, associated with Mesha (Aries),  Simha (Leo), and Dhanu (Sagittarius), correspond to  1st House, 5th House and 9th HouseFire represents the Dharma Houses. These are houses of purpose and meaning.

The elements and houses also correspond to one of the four Aims of Life, or “Purusharthas” In Hinduism, Purushartha (Aims Of Life) refers to a goal, end or aim of human existence.

* Dharma: (religious, social and/or moral) righteousness, both spiritual and ritual
* Artha: (material and/or financial) prosperity as well as pursuit of meaning
* Kama: (material) pleasure of any kind
* Moksa: (spiritual) liberation; or renunciation and detachment

The flow of the houses through the signs represent a pattern of development. The highest house number in each grouping or triad represents the fullest and most powerful expression of energy in that group. For example, the 9th house is the fullest expression of the Fire/Dharma houses (1, 5, 9)

Within the Celtic history, fire has been used for its powerful healing, purging and cleansing properties. Offered as a tool of celebration in many of the major holidays and seasonal transitions, fire, smoke and ashes were deemed to have protective properties. Cows were driven between two pillars of fire as a cleansing ritual, while tribes would jump over bonfires to achieve fertility, prosperity and protection, fires lit to represent stages of the sun and its light are all good examples as to how fire plays a major role in ritualistic aspects.



June 21 to September 22

(Summer solstice to the eve of autumn equinox)

Powers: Warmth, sexuality, activity, excitement, entertainment, insight, liveliness, swiftness, renewal, purifying, transformation, change, transmutation, destruction, creation, passion, energy, intuition, inspiration, will, desire, heat, communication, strength, courage.

Stones: Amber, obsidian, rhodochrosite, ruby, lava rock, garnet, jasper, pipestone, citrine, beryl, hematite.

Plants: Basil, carnation, cedar, chrysanthemum, dill, ginger, heliotrope, holly, juniper, marigold, peppermint, ash, betony, cinnamon, tobacco, witch hazel, cactus.

Direction: South   (North in the Northern Hemisphere)

Tools: Athame, Altar candle

Colors:  Red, gold, yellow, orange.

Season: Summer

Wheel of the Year/Sabbat:  Litha (Summer solstice)

Number 1

Time: Noon

Goddesses:  St. Brigid, Hestia, Vesta, Pele.

Gods: Agni, Hephaetus, Prometheus, Vulcan

Zodiac: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius.

Planets:  Sun, Mars.

Elemental:  Salamanders

Wind Spirit:  Boreas (North wind) (Notus in the NH)

Angel: Ariel

Sense: Sight

Time of life: Young Adult

Goddess aspect: Enchantress/Warrior

Polarity:  Masculine

Hermetic Axiom: “to dare”

Discover the “Gifts of Fire” here

Crystals Associated with Fire



Posted on

December 22, 2017

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop